Tommy Johnson, Jr. t f i

Terry Chandler’s Make-A-Wish
Dodge Charger R/T Funny Car

6th Current

NAPA Auto Parts
DSR Funny Car


Career: 16 event titles (14 FC, 2 TF)

Tommy Johnson Jr., 49, has been the most successful Funny Car driver over the past three seasons with Terry Chandler’s  Make-A-Wish Dodge Charger R/T Funny Car at Don Schumacher Racing by finishing third in points twice and second in 2016 with crew chief John Collins and assistant Rip Reynolds.

The native of Ottumwa, Iowa, who lives outside Indianapolis in Avon, has competed in more than 400 NHRA pro events, which includes stints driving for four hall-of-famers (Don Schumacher, Kenny Bernstein, Don Prudhomme and the NFL’s Joe Gibbs).

In addition to winning event titles in seven countries, he is one of 15 drivers to win NHRA events in Top Fuel and Funny Car and one of only 18 to qualify No. 1 in both nitro categories.

Read MoreSee Less

6th Current

The Latest From Tommy

Absolutely heartbroken about hearing of the passing of #TC. Nicest & baddest dudes I've ever met to drive a modified.

Terry Chandler’s Make-A-Wish Dodge Charger R/T Funny Car Crew

John Collins

John Collins Crew Chief

Rip Reynolds

Rip Reynolds Assistant Crew Chief

Ryan Elliott

Ryan Elliott Mechanic

James Wingo

James Wingo Mechanic

Ed Tyler

Ed Tyler Mechanic

Alex Barrett

Alex Barrett Mechanic

David Peterson

David Peterson Mechanic

Jason Hemphill

Jason Hemphill Mechanic

Travis Walters

Travis Walters Mechanic

Our Sponsors

Join Shoe's News

Thank You!

Thank you for signing up to receive Shoe’s News.