Second-round loss by Beckman to Mopar Mile-High Nationals winner drops Infinite Hero Dodge Charger R/T one spot for fourth in standings

MORRISON, Colo. (July 23, 2017)  Jack Beckman and Terry Chandler's Infinite Hero Dodge Charger R/T Funny Car dropped one spot to fourth in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series standings Sunday when Robert Hight pulled around by three points when he beat Beckman in the second round and went on to win the event title that snapped Don Schumacher Racing streak of 10 straight wins.

Beckman qualified sixth but could only muster a 4.319-second run at 289.65 mph to a subpar but quicker 4.146 (305.22) by John Force Racing's Hight.
"We had to scramble to change engines before the second round," said Beckman, the 2012 Funny Car world champion who has won twice this year.
"We had an issue where we didn't even get to warm (the car) up on nitro. We got behind the eight-ball and that really affected the performance of the car. And it's really unfortunately because I think we had a car that could've won."
The NHRA travels next week to northern California for the second stop of the annual Western Swing for the 30th annual NHRA Nationals at Sonoma.
Beckman claimed the title at Sonoma in 2015 and hopes to bring Chandler's Dodge back to the winner's circle in 2017.
DSR FUNNY CARS                                                                                                                               
Event winner: Robert Hight (John Force Racing)
No. 1 qualifier: Courtney Force (John Force Racing), 3.889 sec., 328.30 mph - track records
JACK BECKMAN, Terry Chandler's Infinite Hero Foundation 2017 Dodge Charger R/T              
Crew chiefs: Dean Antonelli, John Medlen, Neal Strausbaugh
First round: BECKMAN (4.027 sec., 320.20 mph) def. Alexis DeJoria (4.056, 316.90)
Second round: Robert Hight (4.146, 305.22) def. BECKMAN (4.319, 289.63)
Qualified: No. 6
FRIDAY:  7.990 sec., 87.61 mph, (Session 1); 4.024, 319.60, (Session 2)
SATURDAY: 4.037, 314.75, (Session 3); 3.978, 316.97, (Session 4)
Last event (July 9), Joliet, Ill.: Qualified No. 2, lost in second round to Tim Wilkerson
A year ago at Denver: Qualified No. 6, lost in first round to Ron Capps  
Career at Denver: Wins 3 (2007, 2012, 2015); Runner-ups 1 (2008); Poles 1 (2012)
(Official after Denver; 14th of 24 events; wins in parenthesis; DSR drivers in CAPS)
  1. RON CAPPS (6)                 1,244       -----
  2. MATT HAGAN (3)               1,058     -186
  4. Robert Hight (1)                     973      -271
  3. JACK BECKMAN (2)             970      -274
  5. TOMMY JOHNSON JR. (1)   925      -319
  6. Courtney Force                      793       -451
  7. John Force (1)                       757       -487
  8. Tim Wilkerson                        634       -610
  9. J.R. Todd                               612       -632
10. Cruz Pedregon                      538       -706

Our Sponsors

Join Shoe's News

Thank You!

Thank you for signing up to receive Shoe’s News.