Tony Schumacher, David Davies Advance to the Quarterfinals at Richmond

Virginia NHRA Nationals
Event 7 of 22
Virginia Motorsports Park
North Dinwiddie, Va.  
May 13 - 15, 2022 

Tony Schumacher recorded a 3.758 E.T. during Q2 to qualify the Scag Power Equipment Top Fuel dragster 11th for the Virginia NHRA Nationals. Schumacher drew Pomona winner Justin Ashley as his first-round competitor and used a 3.792 E.T. to earn the definitive win over Ashley, who lost traction as soon as he stepped on the throttle. Schumacher then faced another heavy-hitter in round two of eliminations, lining up against reigning series champion Steve Torrence. In a battle between two of the titans of the sport, Schumacher and Torrence went into the quarterfinals each having been victorious over the other 19 times in 38 prior rounds of competition. The winningest driver in NHRA Top Fuel history was looking to break the round-win tie but was up in smoke as soon as he launched off the starting line. In the opposite lane, Torrence had troubles of his own, double-stepping at the starting line before hazing the tires down track but was able to hang on for the win.
“It was tricky all day,” said Schumacher, the 2008 Virginia NHRA Nationals Top Fuel winner. “We made a bunch of runs down the track during qualifying, and it was cloudy and cooler, and all of a sudden, today it’s hot and slippery and 110 degrees on the surface. Hey, it’s the same for everybody. I don’t make excuses. We got beat. (Steve) Torrence went out and double-stepped it, and you think, ‘how do you not pull a red light out of that,’ but they held on and did a great job getting down the track. We smoked ‘em right away. As much as you want to blame this or that, we’ll go back and figure it out. We’ll come back out at Epping like the machine that we are, the guys will do their jobs, we have some new clutch plans and we’ll have a new system.”
Schumacher departs Virginia Motorsports Park ranked ninth and will look to improve his position in the standings when the NHRA returns to Epping, N.H. for the NHRA New England Nationals, June 3 – 6.
In the Constant Aviation Factory Stock Showdown Series, David Davies’ quick reflexes during round one earned him the holeshot victory over Stephen Bell. Unfortunately, in round two, the tables were turned and Davies found himself on the losing end of a quicker E.T. when Jesse Alexandra’s starting line advantage allowed him to score the round win.
Factory Stock competitors will rejoin the NHRA tour during the Thunder Valley Nationals in Bristol, Tenn., June 17 – 19, the halfway point of the eight-event series.

Driver of the Scag Power Equipment Top Fuel dragster:

 No. 11 (3.758 E.T. at 321.50 MPH)
Elimination Round Results:
E1: 3.792 E.T. at 319.52 MPH defeated Justin Ashley 8.368 E.T. at 76.72 MPH
E2: 5.309 E.T. at 253.56 MPH defeated by Steve Torrence 4.402 E.T. at 234.98 MPH

NHRA Camping World Series Top Fuel Point Standings (Unofficial):

1 Brittany Force   605
2 Steve Torrence   524
3 Mike Salinas   521
4 Justin Ashley   468
5 Austin Prock   367
6 Clay Millican   365
7 Josh Hart   345
8 Doug Kalitta   316
9 Tony Schumacher   295
10 Shawn Langdon   269


Constant Aviation Factory Stock Showdown Series:

Driver of the D H Davies Racing® /Save our Allies Dodge Challenger Mopar Drag Pak

 No. 13 (7.884 E.T. at 176.44 MPH)
Elimination Round Results:
E1: 7.880 E.T. at 177.09 MPH defeated Stephen Bell 7.876 E.T. at 174.68 MPH
E2: 7.868 E.T. at 176.67 MPH defeated by Jesse Alexandra 7.888 E.T. at 173.29 MPH



Driver of the 
Empaco Equipment Dodge Challenger Mopar Drag Pak

Qualified: No. 10 (7.850 E.T. at 177.74 MPH)
Elimination Round Results:
E1: 7.998 E.T. at 170.15 MPH defeated by David Barton 7.938 E.T. at 173.70 MPH 


Driver of the 
Dodge Challenger Mopar Drag Pak

Qualified: No. 9 (7.839 E.T. at 177.46 MPH)
Elimination Round Results:
E1: 7.901 E.T. at 174.57 MPH defeated by Daniel Condon 7.909 E.T. at 173.01 MPH 


Constant Aviation Factory Stock Showdown Series Point Standings (unofficial):
1 Bill Skillman   282
2 David Barton   218
3 Lenny Lottig   217
4 Aaron Stanfield   166
5 Anthony Troyer   154
6 Stephen Bell   145
7 Warren Walcher   141
8 Dan Condon   134
9 David Janac   126
10 Mark Pawuk   125
11 Ricky Hord   120
12 David Davies III   116

Our Sponsors

Connect with DSR